2017 Goals

It’s a new year and so, with 2016 in our rearview mirrors, it’s time to reflect on the year that has passed and how I want 2017 to be different.

Looking at my resolutions for 2016, I feel like I’ve accomplished quite a lot! I finally started to do things I said I would, not postponing them until they left my consciousness. Granted, there are still quite a few things on my lists that should have been done already, but at least I’m actively making an effort to get shit done.

With that being said, I want to live a more carefree life this year. Making to-do lists are great for keeping track of everything you want/have to do, but it also acts as a constraint that keeps you from being spontaneous. So striking that balance between spontaneity and routine is something I want to accomplish in 2017.

And here are the more generic things:

  • Go on less Facebook – This is a serious problem of my generation, and I want to make a real effort not to waste time scrolling through unnecessary nonsense.
  • Do 5km three times a week – I’ve started doing parkruns religiously on Saturdays, and now it’s time to do more than that.
  • Lose 5kg – During 2016 I basically just picked up the 5ks I lost in 2015, so now I’m just over it and am going to work my butt off (literally!)
  • Read more books – I managed to read a book a month last year and it’s something I enjoy so much. I’m aiming for 14 books over the course of the year.
  • Travel more
  • Hike even more
  • Continue to not eat McDonald’s (or other horrible fast food companies’ food)
  • Start working on Project Germany 

And that’s it for now! I’ll continue to review my progress every quarter, and hopefully, in three months’ time I have achieved what I’ve set out to do.

Leave a Reply

