Who Am I?

What is my identity? Who determines my identity? Who am I?

I’ve been trying to answer this question for the last few days and I’m struggling. I feel as if I have to enter a dark room and confront myself with a bunch of questions just to figure out who I am. The reason I’m wondering this is that after a conversation with a few colleagues, their opinions, concerning my personality, differed completely from my own. And now I’m stuck wondering, am I who I think I am, or what people around me see?

Me, looking all perplexed and stuff.

 

I’ve always been of the opinion to not care what people think of me. I like to do my own thing, what makes me happy, and that’s it. If anyone else has a problem with it, well, that’s just it, their problem. But now I wonder whether I’m living an illusion – is who I think I am only something in my head? It has to be, right? Otherwise, why would three other people argue with me over one of my traits?

I’m not putting all these question marks in here to sound smart, I genuinely don’t know. So if anyone cares to share their thoughts or elaborate on my crisis, please feel free to throw in your 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

