New York – The City of People

New York City might be famous for its glorious skyline and bustling city life, but this spot on the map truly is a city of people.

Welcome to New York.

Welcome to New York.

Pakistani, Guinean, Costa Rican, Italian, Nigerian, American, Ukrainian, Brazilian and then lastly South African. These are just some of the people I managed to meet in 48 hours in one of the greatest cities in the world.

During my very short trip, I came to realise once again that it doesn’t matter what colour your skin is, who you love, where you come from, or what language you speak. We are all people, people of the world. And as long as we have mutual respect for one another, we could truly achieve a loving, peaceful and thriving world.

We are starting to develop a new culture – one that isn’t bound by the borders of our country, or the accent of our broken English. It’s one that is characterised by a sense of community, of care for one another, and a wish to live a happy and full-filling life that includes everyone that feels the same way. We are starting to come together from all over the globe, and once we start to talk to people from another continent without bias, without pre-conceived notions of who they are, we come to realise that we are all the same.

In this time where racism is rife as ever, where stereotypes plague our views of people different from us, and where we are frightened by that which we don’t know or understand, try not to be judgmental. Try to give every one you meet a fair chance. The world will be a better place if you do.

 

4 thoughts on “New York – The City of People

  1. I live in NYC, and I’ve grown so accustomed to being surrounded by many diverse group of people that I find myself to be very socially awkward when I am elsewhere. As different as we all may be, I find comfort in that difference. I wish others felt the same in this day and age.

    • Sadly, you are one of few, but I’m hopeful that humans everywhere could learn to celebrate difference in such aa great way. I live in Cape Town, and although most South Africans have different backgrounds and cultures, we aren’t nearly as accepting of one another, and we don’t seem to get along as the people in NYC. It’s something I hope the people of my city can aspire to!

Leave a Reply

