Being on Your Own

On February 16 I went to go watch a movie. But this wasn’t just any excursion to the theatre. This was different. This was the first time that I went to go see a movie by myself, and it was the first time that the thought of going on my own to see a film didn’t freak me out. It was the first time that I was happy to do something, usually reserved for two or more people, all on my own.

Being on your own doesn't have to be a bad thing. Being happy on your own, is a necessity.

If Hugh Glass could brave the American West by himself, I figured I could go watch a movie on my own.

For most people, this might not ever have been an issue. I guess some people are just naturally content on doing things on their own. For the most part I am one of those people. But it took a long time for me to be truly happy being by myself. And going to the movies alone has been something I’ve tried doing for four years now, and I’ve always failed. Until Tuesday.

I’m not sure what changed. But whatever it is, I’m glad it did. It was weird really. I didn’t ask anyone to go with me, I just decided that I want to go see this movie. Full stop. And so I went, I bought a single ticket and I watched what was probably one of the best films I’ve ever seen: The Revenant.

Honestly, I have never experienced anything so immersive as this. really, you don’t get any better than this, the cinematography, the acting, the surroundings, the sound, the music, it all just comes together to create a celebration of the senses.

So, bottom line. Go see this movie, it really is brilliant. And if you can’t get someone to go with you, go on your own. You shouldn’t miss out on things just because you can’t get someone to go with you. As with Hugh Glass (the main character in The Revenant), you’ll find that sometimes, you’ll be on your own, and when you are, don’t let that bring you down. Become your own strength, because everything you need to live a good life, is already in you.

Leave a Reply

