The Art of Blogging

Paint by keyboard

Google Image

It has been quite some time since my last published post (27 days to be precise) and I’m sitting here wondering how it happened. How did I manage (again!) to let my writing fall behind so fast. I mean, surely it can’t be that difficult to just get my coffee, open my laptop, wait for the internet to finally load and start pressing keys? Turns out, it actually is quite difficult.

Just because it has taken me more than 2 weeks to post an article, doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing. oh no. I’ve been writing. There are approximately 5 drafts, patiently waiting to be given some attention to. See when I get an idea, I literally start a draft for it and then leave it there. Sometimes I come back to it quickly, other times I leave it there for months on end and when I go on a spring clean, I simply add it to the virtual trash pile.

The things that inspire me, affect me, or simply pop into my head, loses it’s relevance. I don’t want to try and write a post on the feeling of an orgasm anymore. 2 Years ago I thought it would be interesting to write about (and truth be told, I still do), but other topics have taken over, other things have started to plague/colonize/occupy my thoughts and so they become more important, they become the new drafts, the hopeful ideas that want to rise and become a published post.

So yes, I am not a consistent blogger (yet). Currently I write when I feel inspired, when I have the time, or just when I feel like it. I take in what’s going on around me, try and convert my emotions into words and draft from there.

One thing I’ve learned though, and this is true with most things in life, you really just have to set your mind to it. you just have to keep going and sit down and do it. Even though you’re not feeling inspired, just start pressing keys; an idea will form, your mind will start running around and your finger tips will take care of the rest. And then, once you’ve compiled words in an orderly manner (or not, who cares right? 🙂 ) you can decide whether you want to publish it, make it known to the world and send your work into the universe. Or, as I’ve been doing for the last 27 days, you can just select ‘save draft’ and carry on another day.

But not today.

Today I will post this, it will be known to everyone who sees it. This is the one that made it. This post is the chosen one. The sole survivor to escape the draft category.

After all, that’s what blogging is really about, sorting through the best ideas, the most valuable information in your mind and setting them free into the world. The time and pace you choose, is entirely up to you.

Leave a Reply

