Zzzz

It has arrived! This will be my last segment in the ABC of self-improvement.

I have enjoyed writing this so much and I can honestly say it has been for the better. Although I still slip up, I still lose my temper and resort to being lazy rather than productive, I feel better. Rome wasn’t built in a day and this series made me aware of things that I want to change. It also made me realise that I have various qualities that are already in place and I have to focus on the good things when it seems impossible to change the bad ones.

Zzz

Zzz

So here follows my last letter.

Everybody always says, get more sleep in. I say no. Rather get just the right amount of sleep in your routine. When I’ve slept too much I’m just as irritable as when I’m running on 4 hours sleep. Of course, more sleep is preferable and the benefits of a good night’s sleep is unparalleled, but make sure that you don’t sleep too much.

Number one, you eventually wake up and feel like you’re wasting your life away. That makes you feel lazy, guilty and unproductive. Very negative stuff.

Number two, oversleeping becomes a habit. You’ll want to sleep more and more and that’s time unnecessarily wasted.

Number three, sleeping too much can actually make you feel tired! (It doesn’t make sense, but there are various scientific reasons for it.) When you’re tired, you get grumpy, cranky and are basically resorting to be your least attractive self, making it incredibly difficult to be the best version you can be.

So go to bed a little earlier, or sleep a little more, or even get up earlier and sleep a little less. Find out what works for you; it really is worth it when you wake up and literally want to jump out of bed (okay not jump, get up more enthusiastically than usual), but you will start your day on a positive note and when you kick off the morning like that, it’s the start to a day of self-improvement.

Leave a Reply

