Understand

If you want to be a better person, you have to put yourself in someone else's shoes.

If you want to be a better person, you have to put yourself in someone else’s shoes.

Judging a person is an awful thing a human can do. When you are observing someone in such a way that your thoughts are immediately negative, stop yourself in your tracks and think about how that person must feel.

Judgement and Observation is merely distinguished by the fine line of understanding. When simply observing a person or a situation, no conclusion has been made, but as soon as you’ve made up your mind that that woman is a bitch for cutting in front of you, then judgement has passed.

No one has the right to judge another in a scenario as futile as a person cutting the line, or not giving you a gap on the road. The more time you spend yelling at her, debating how she can do something like that, wondering why she’s such a bitch, stop. Just stop doing it. The more time you spend complaining, the more negative you’ll become. I have road rage, so it’s very difficult for me not to lean on my horn en scream at such insolent drivers, but the thing is, we have to understand that not everybody thinks the way we do. She may not have noticed me, or believes I shouldn’t get a gap in front of her, or whatever the case may be.

When I’m struggling to not judge someone, I turn the tables and wonder how I’ll feel if someone were judging me. Immediately, my negatvie thoughts disappear and I start forgetting about the drama that ruled my life 10 seconds ago.

Point is, don’t judge people, rather than abolishing them for something they’ve done, rather try to understand why they did what they did. Chances are, you’ll get more respect and a better attitude from them when you walk a mile in their shoes.

Leave a Reply

